Student Interview: Gym 1

Name: Rebecca Jonsson

Class: Gym 1

Nationality: Swedish

Years in Belgium: Lived here her whole life

Programme: Svenska Samhällsprogrammet


 

What is the best thing about living in Belgium?

I get to see other cultures, both in school and outside of school, which is very interesting. I learn a lot about other people and how things work in Belgium. Also, since the school has students from all over Scandinavia, I feel that I learn a lot about their cultures and people from those countries as well.


How do you think this school is different from schools in Sweden/Norway?

Well I think the schools have different systems. Since we are so many different nationalities at the school it is important that all of our study plans are combined in the subject. Because of this I, as a Swedish student, am taught a lot of the things that f.ex. Norwegian students learn in their study plans. Also, since the school is smaller than a typical Swedish school, people get a lot closer to each other.


Do you want to study abroad later? Is this because of your experience atSSB?

I think I want to study in Lund, Sweden, after Upper secondary school. I have never lived in Sweden so I would like to try it and see what it’s like. Before I begin my university studies I would like to travel the world. I really want to see the world and learn about other cultures, this I think is because of my studies here.


How are the teachers att SSB?

The school has good teachers.  They really care about every student, this is possible because the classes aren’t too big and it means that we always get help when we need it.  They also adapt the subjects well to the different study plans.


How do you feel that going to a multinational school affects you?

I think I am very open towards other cultures. Swedish people sometimes have a tendency to be scared of other cultures or people from other countries. I am more open and interested in getting to know new people and learning about them.


Do you go to any singing/music lessons at the school? How is that?

Yes I do. I practice Piano, singing and sometimes band practice after school. I think it is very good. There are a lot of instruments and the teachers are great at pushing us to perform better and learn more, which is very motivating. The music facilities and the possibilities to practice and play music is the best thing about SSB according to me.


How do you think your studies at SSB will affect/benefit you in the future?

I have gotten to learn and practice a lot of English. Also I have become very good at getting to know new people. Here at SSB there are new students all the time which means that there always are new people to get to know.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0