Student Interview: Gym 1

Name: Johanne Stoveland

Class: Gym 1

Nationality: Norwegian

Years in Belgium: Second year this year

Programme: Studiespesialisering (Norweigan programme)


 

1. What is the best thing about living in Belgium?

Many different countries come together in Brussels, not only to study but to live and work here. It is not too far from home so you can always go visit but at the same time it is nice to be a bit further away because of the weather. Belgium is also called the heart of Europe. This means that we are close to all kinds of places, France for instance.

 

2. How do you think this school is different from schools in Norway?

A bit more difficult but in a good way, we get to learn so much more. Another great thing is that we practice so many different languages in school. Also I think students at SSB are very ambitious and motivated in comparison to Norway, this is really good because it motivates me to study and do my very best as well.

 

3. Do you want to study abroad later? Is this because of your experience at SSB?

My studies at SSB and my living in Belgium have showed me that it is possible. It has given me confidence and now I know I can do it. I have gotten to feel what it is like to live and study abroad so it is very possible that I will want to continue doing so in the future.


4. Do you feel that you speak a lot of French/English because of living here?

I talk a lot more English here than I did in Norway; often it is necessary in order to understand each other at SSB. Also I play handball and so athletics outside of school, during these practices I speak French, which is a great way for me to learn.

 

5. How do you feel that going to a multinational school affects you?

I am Norweigan but after a year at SSB I speak fluent Swedish, I practice it a lot because many of my friends are Swedish. I have become more independent and self confident, I no longer find it scary to get to know new people or talk to people I have never met before.

 

6. What do you think is important to know about Belgium/SSB before moving here?

That it is a nice environment to live in. SSB is a very good school with different nationalities that come together in a very good way. Belgium is sometimes known as a boring country but this is not true at all. There are many nice cities, the country has a very interesting history and it is a fun country to live in.

 

7. Do you participate in any extracurricular acitivities? How is it?

I used to go to body work. I wanted to do sports that the school didn’t offer so the school helped me to find clubs outside of school where I could do that. 



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0