Questions answered

I have gotten a few questions from a student who is applying to the school next year. She currently lives in Stockholm and is in Gym 1, so I thought I's quickly answer her questions.



1. Considering that you have gone to a swedish school before you went to Belgium, what would you say is the biggest difference between the schools?

The biggest difference I would say is how close everybody is here, as some other students have said in the student interviews. We're not a lot of people so we really look out for each other. Personally I would also say that people here, in general, are more motivated and ambitious which makes school so much more fun.

2. How can I make sure that I do the right courses matching with SSB’s studyplans?

What I did was to firstly have a meeting together with my study counselor (studievägledare) at my school to discuss the different course plans at both schools. She helped me to find out what I would have to study here at SSB and taught me a bit about how the system works. After this I contacted Christina Newport at SSB and did the same thing, I told her what I would like to study and she helped me to plan my courses. I would really recommend using the help of people like this since it can be quite confusing to do it by yourself.

3. How does a typical weekly schedule look like, for a student going to upper secondary?

This question is diffucult to answer since it is very induvidual and depends on things like which courses you're taking and how many courses you've already finished. In gym 1 & 2 a lot of students have school from 8.15-15.15 with a lunch break but in Gym 3 some have less subjects because they have finished a lot of courses already.

4. What would you say, is the best reason to choose SSB?

The best reason to begin at the school is that you will learn a lot and actually feel that you are developing new skills. Also you make a lot of new friends and get to live in an interesting country. The best reason to live at the boarding is, according to me, that you really feel independent and more grown up than at home, it's a lot of fun and also here you make friends for life.


5. Which languages are the lessons held in, for instance social science?

The answer to this question depends on a couple of things. I would say that some subjects are in English most of the time and others in your mother-tounge. If the group of students are of the same nationatlity then you usually get taught in their language but if the class is more mixed the teachers tend to teach in English so that everybody can understand.

7. Approximately, how many people live at the boarding?

Currently 46 students live at the boarding. But there are also a few houseparents living here.

8. If you live at the boarding, is it easy to study after school or do you easily get distracted?

I think it is as easy as it is at home. Wherever you study you will always be able to find distractions like watching TV, friends doing something fun or being on facebook. I have no trouble studying at the castle because I can always go into my room and be alone. Since there are a lot of students living here there is always something going on that is more fun than studying, people watching a movie in the living room for example. I think it is important that you as an induvidual can take responsibility for your studies and make sure it gets done but these distractions at the castle can, as I mentioned, be compared to other distractions back at home too.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0